Review of Castle – Season 3 Episode 24

*CONTAINS SPOILERS*

Once in a while, an episode of TV comes along that I feel compelled to talk about, and the season 3 finale of Castle is one of them. The show in general is pretty lighthearted with some serious moments thrown in. This episode was very intense, and was done beautifully.

To be honest, there have only been a handful of episodes I’ve been really impressed with this season, Don’t get me wrong, there have been many great episodes this season, but many of them are fun and don’t take themselves very seriously. After a two-parter episode halfway through the season, the people behind the show had me convinced they still “had it”. The finale episode solidifed that belief.

When we spend time to watch TV, we are investing part of ourselves in getting to know the characters, the tone, and everything that makes the show what it is. Just like in real life, how we feel in a moment matters in how much we remember later on. It will be a very long time before I forget the moments in the episode. I can honestly say I teared up at different moments. THAT is powerful.

It seemed that every moment of this episode was carefully planned out, every expression practiced, and every plot twist perfected. Everything from when Ryan and Esposito find out Captain Montgomery committed a crime and their reaction, to his death in the hanger, to Beckett’s crying and screaming reaction his sacrificing his life for hers, and of course when Castle confesses his love for Beckett in what appears to be her deathbed (nice cliffhanger, but she’ll be back).

They consider Castle to be part of their precinct family. The scene with Beckett making absolutely sure Esposito, Ryan, and Castle would never let it be known how Capt Montgomery died, in order to protect his good name. And the funeral scene, with Castle as one of the people holding the caskett.

There were moments during the season that went by without hardly a mention, such as Castle and Beckett’s kiss, and when they were trapped in the walk-in fridge. My initial reaction was ‘how the hell do they move on from that, like nothing happened?’ Well, in the finale, they acknowledged them, and make it crystal clear that although the show has teased their eventual romance, they have no intention of ignoring it, but at the same time they will continue to pay respect to their on-the-job relationship.

This episode also made clear that although Castle and Beckett have arguments, even when it’s something she passionately cares about, she wants Castle there with her every step of the way.

I’ve seen some comments online that a relationship between Castle and Beckett will ruin the show. Not a chance, at least not with the due care the writers are giving to that element of the show. If anything, it will make the show stronger.

There have been very few shows I’ve become invested in during my life, and this is one of them. I am very excited for season 4 and what it will bring to this show.

A more detailed review can be found here.

7 Responses to “Review of Castle – Season 3 Episode 24”


  1. 1 work at home job list March 6, 2013 at 7:12 am

    Hi, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar
    one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can
    recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any support is very much appreciated.

  2. 2 Electronic Cigarettes Starter Kit April 23, 2013 at 8:00 am

    Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is fundamental and all.

    However imagine if you added some great photos or video clips to
    give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent
    but with images and videos, this website could
    certainly be one of the most beneficial in
    its niche. Very good blog!

  3. 3 http://demo.3dev.org/ April 25, 2013 at 12:49 am

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to
    your site? My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would really benefit
    from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with
    you. Thanks!

  4. 4 Home Source for Earnings Reviews June 23, 2013 at 3:30 pm

    It’s an remarkable article in support of all the online visitors; they will get benefit from it I am sure.

  5. 5 quit smoking August 2, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after looking at a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m certainly happy I discovered it and I’ll be
    book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  6. 6 Sadie October 23, 2013 at 3:24 am

    I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this website.
    I really hope to see the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged
    me to get my own, personal blog now 😉


  1. 1 abusive relationships abusive relationships signs abusive relationships stories abusive relationships quotes abusive relationships hotline abusive relationships quiz abusive relationships tumblr abusive relationships movies abusive relationships articles Trackback on August 31, 2013 at 7:09 am

Leave a Reply

Kevin’s Calendar

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 5,972 hits

