Getting Ready to Move…

I grew up moving in different places around Canada, as my Dad was in the military. I ended up being in a different school nearly every year, and it felt like we never got to really settle down anywhere until I went to high school in Leduc, Alberta. I spent all three years at the same high school, and I loved it, if only for the regular routine and the same group of friends. I never did fall in love with the city of Leduc for various reasons. After ten years, I decided it was time to move, and I chose Lethbridge. Mom and I did a scouting trip, but the moment we drove into town, I fell in love with it. It honestly and truly felt like home and where I belonged. Not even kidding when I say that.

Due to various situations with roommates and landlords, I have lived in 5 places in the span of 4 years. It was an adventure, but a costly one. I have lived in my current place for just over a year. Never did fall in love with it, but there wasn’t anything better available at the time, and I absolutely refused to move again. It’s a basement suite and has all of the amenities, except the washer and dryer, which are upstairs. The kitchen is small, but the private bathroom is nice, as is the decent sized-living room and futon. The furnace is out in the open, which isn’t very comfortable if a friend is staying the night.

My bedroom is nice and spacious, and part of it serves as my home office, since outlets are all taken up in the living room. There are two picture windows, which merely serve as fire escapes, since window wells block any kind of view.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful for what I have, and my landlord/housemate is the best I’ve ever had. It bugs me the basement needs work, but he’s usually up on the rigs, and I can’t knock a guy for making a living. That being said, I’m usually the only one home, which makes for some very lonely days since I work from home most of the time. I don’t blame him at all. I knew what I was getting into when I took the place. At the time, I wanted peace and quiet compared to what I put up with at my old place.

So, I finally made the decision at the beginning of January to move. Not an ideal time of year, but I’ve done it before. I want a place on the southside, since it’s super easy to get downtown and to the stores along Mayor Magrath Drive, and bus service is excellent.

I took a look at one place on Tuesday. It’s nice enough, but I wasn’t thrilled about it. It’s an older house on a very narrow street, but the room is a decent size, and another guy rents a room, which is also on the main floor. The bathroom is decent, but the shower is cramped, as is the kitchen, but it’s certainly acceptable, though shared by the two people downstairs as well. The living room is huge and has nice furniture. The washer and dryer are downstairs as one would expect. Parking is on the street, but to plug the car in requires at least as 50-foot extension cord.

The place I looked at tonight is very nice, and I get a good feeling from it. It’s merely a couple of blocks south of where I used to live when I first moved to Lethbridge, so I’m already comfortable with the area. The rent is less than what I’m paying right now, and includes TV and internet to boot. It’s a basement suite, but has big windows in each room. Laundry is downstairs tucked away in a room, along with a massive freezer. There are two closets I can use, and some room in the garage for storage. Parking is available behind the house. The living room is massive, with nice leather sofas, and a unit for a TV and whatnot. There is a very nice full bathroom downstairs. The basement has a seperate entrance as well. There is one other person renting a room, which is fine.

She is offering another room upstairs for the same price, but it’s much smaller, though the main floor is incredibly nice. Either way it’s a year’s lease.

There is one more place on the southside I may look at on Saturday. Haven’t decided yet. The guy said I can have a main floor room, but will likely need to move to a downstairs room by late Spring, as his mother will be returning from her winter home and will want the main floor.

This is the nerve-wracking part about moving…choosing a place. The moving part is easy, especially just across town. It seems that the only places I really like that are available are basement suites, but at least there  will be more activity in the house.

Anyway, sorry for the lengthy post. Sometimes I do that, “think out loud” as they say.

0 Responses to “Getting Ready to Move…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Kevin’s Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 5,942 hits

