Running in Place

I’ve had a very difficult and stressful last couple of weeks. Stresses at work and with finances have had a domino effect on the rest of my life. I’ve had difficulties with colleagues, finances, neglecting friendships, and made silly mistakes at work that I’ve been kicking myself for. I’d rather not go into great detail here about certain things. If you know me, or read my LiveJournal, you know some of what’s been happening.

And its all had an effect on my physical and mental health.

It’s been an exhausting last couple of weeks, and I’ve truly felt like as of late I’ve been running in place. I didn’t get nearly as much work done this week as I would have liked, and it’s been due to psychological stress. What money I have been making certainly hasn’t allowed me to get ahead. If nothing I’m falling behind.

After allowing myself to absolutely and positively take today off, aside from one remote call I had scheduled, I had time to reflect and consider what I’ve been through lately and how determined I am to NEVER go through the crazy combination of emotions I have been experiencing.

Simply put, I’ve been working hard instead of working smart. I’ve felt like I’ve been working 24/7 when I in fact haven’t.

I love my job and can’t fathom not going it. In fact, once I get my life together again, I’ll also be doing some part-time journalism work, because I really miss it after having graduated last April. But I will pace myself.

Suffice to say, with the help of friends and family, I’ll be making major changes in my life in the coming weeks to reduce stress and be more successful. I’m not giving up on anything, just changing my approach. Something I’ve been trying to do in parts, but life hasn’t been kind to me in allowing to fully focus, as I’ve felt I’ve been doing more damage control in that time instead. That needs to and will change.

I won’t be lacking in my responsibilities, but my forward focus in my work will change. Something I’ve been talking about for awhile, and it’s about time I did it.

However, I can’t do any of it without the support of colleagues, friends, and family. For example, I had a good long chat with my folks, who will be helping me out financially for the next couple of weeks. That alone is a huge sigh of relief, and allows me to focus on other parts of my life.

So, if you have some time, please, give me a call. I’d love to hear from you, catch up, hear how you’re doing, and even get insight, as it always helps to talk about things.

0 Responses to “Running in Place”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Kevin’s Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Blog Stats

  • 5,976 hits

