Becoming A Network Administrator

     I was able to speak to a Network Administrator today from a local schoolboard. I used the format of a college career investigation, but it was really for personal knowledge and curiousity. He spoke quite highly of his job/career and how much he enjoys it. He admitted to being a geek at heart. We spoke for about 45 minutes on a variety of topics, everything from wages to the volume of work to the typical hours worked. He talked about what he does on a daily basis. He asked some good questions as well, and seemed pleased by my answers. He mentioned of how he doesn’t have any certifications besides that of which he achieved in college, and the fact that he employers hired him solely based on the fact that he went to the specific college, that being NAIT. He took the Network Administrator course. This came as a surprise to me, but an impressive one!
 
      The main thing that came out of the phone call for me was what was discussed and discovered and how happy it made me. I have found the career choice for me, almost certainly. I will be calling up Shaw Cable and talking to one of their internal Network Admins to discuss what all that career choice involves, at which point I will make final decisions on what I’ll be doing to achieve my goals.
 
 

      

0 Responses to “Becoming A Network Administrator”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Kevin’s Calendar

May 2006
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 5,976 hits

